Regional summary · community-reported
What pilots say they paid, and how long they waited
Medians of examiner fees pilots posted publicly on r/flying, grouped by region. Small samples. Unverified. Every number links to its source thread. The FAA itself says it has no method for measuring checkride wait times, so these reports are the data.
COMMUNITY-REPORTED 77 fee data points and 7 wait-time reports seeded from public threads. Examiner fee only (no aircraft rental). Add yours.
| Region | Private | Instrument | Commercial | CFI initial | CFII | Multi add-on / MEI | ATP | Retest |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northeast | — | — | — | $1,500 n=1 | — | — | — | — |
| Southeast | $900 n=5, $500–$1,300 | $1,050 n=2, $800–$1,300 | $1,188 n=2, $1,075–$1,300 | $2,000 n=2, $2,000–$2,000 | $1,250 n=1 | $1,500 n=1 | — | — |
| Midwest | $800 n=3, $800–$1,000 | $1,000 n=3, $800–$1,000 | $1,000 n=1 | $1,500 n=2, $1,500–$1,500 | $1,100 n=2, $1,000–$1,200 | $1,000 n=1 | — | — |
| South Central | $1,000 n=1 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Mountain West | $1,000 n=2, $800–$1,200 | $1,400 n=2, $1,000–$1,800 | $1,100 n=2, $700–$1,500 | $1,150 n=2, $1,000–$1,300 | $1,150 n=2, $800–$1,500 | $1,800 n=1 | — | — |
| Southwest | $700 n=1 | $800 n=1 | $1,500 n=1 | $2,000 n=1 | $1,200 n=1 | $1,250 n=2, $1,000–$1,500 | — | — |
| West Coast | — | — | — | $3,000 n=1 | — | $1,000 n=1 | — | — |
| Pacific Northwest | $750 n=1 | $750 n=1 | $1,200 n=1 | — | — | $1,200 n=1 | — | — |
| Unspecified | $1,500 n=6, $550–$1,500 | $1,350 n=4, $550–$1,500 | $1,650 n=2, $1,500–$1,800 | $2,350 n=2, $2,200–$2,500 | $2,000 n=2, $1,500–$2,500 | $1,500 n=1 | $2,000 n=1 | $600 n=2, $500–$700 |
Cell = median fee; n = number of reports; range = min–max. "Unspecified" = poster didn't give a location. Some posts gave one flat fee for "all ratings except CFI"; those are counted under the rating they named only.
Wait-time reports
| Where | Rating | Wait | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not stated | Wait time | 17 wk | A FSDO area where scheduling was 'like a 4 or 5 month ordeal' (~4-5 months) | thread |
| Not stated | Instrument | 3 wk | thread | |
| Not stated | Private | 3 wk | thread | |
| Not stated | Any | — | 'Wait time might be between 3-10 weeks' | thread |
| Southern California | Any | 13 wk | '3+ months here' | thread |
| Florida | Instrument | 13 wk | Part 61 school had been trying to find a DPE for 3 months | thread |
| Not stated | Commercial | — | Trying since March; still unscheduled near July after a weather cancel | thread |
For context: in Embry-Riddle's 2025 national survey, flight schools reported an average 5.1-week wait; DPEs reported 3.1 weeks (Gref & Beckman, IJAAA 2025).
Every data point
| Where | Rating | Fee | Type | Year | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not stated | Private | $1,500 | exam | Original post, first attempts | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | Instrument | $1,200 | exam | Original post, first attempts | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | Commercial | $1,800 | exam | Original post, first attempts | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | CFI initial | $2,200 | exam | Original post, first attempts | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | CFII | $2,500 | exam | Original post, first attempts | Checkride fees by region | |
| Georgia | Private | $900 | exam | 2024 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Georgia | Private | $500 | retest | 2024 | Re-check, flying portion only, different DPE | Checkride fees by region |
| Georgia | Instrument | $800 | exam | 2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Georgia | Commercial single | $1,075 | exam | 2026 | DPE flew to the applicant's airport | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | Private | $1,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | Instrument | $1,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | Commercial | $1,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | ATP | $2,000 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | CFI initial | $2,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | CFII | $1,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | MEI | $1,500 | exam | 2026 | Posted DPE fee schedule effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| Not stated | Retest | $700 | retest | 2026 | Same posted schedule, effective Aug 1, 2026 | Checkride fees by region |
| WY | Private | $800 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| CO | Instrument | $1,000 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| MT | Commercial single | $700 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| CO | CFI initial | $1,300 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| MT | CFII | $800 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| CA | AMEL add-on | $1,000 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| AZ | MEI | $1,500 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| FL | ASES add-on | $600 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| FL | AMES add-on | $500 | exam | 2024-2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | Private | $700 | exam | 2021 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | Instrument | $800 | exam | 2022 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | Commercial | $1,500 | exam | 2023 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | CFI initial | $2,000 | exam | 2023 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | CFII | $1,200 | exam | 2024 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Phoenix, AZ | Commercial multi add-on | $1,000 | exam | 2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Pacific Northwest | Private | $750 | exam | Plus $250 travel fee split between two students ($875 each) | Checkride fees by region | |
| Pacific Northwest | Travel fee | $250 | travel | Split between two students | Checkride fees by region | |
| Pacific Northwest | Instrument | $750 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Pacific Northwest | Commercial | $1,200 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Pacific Northwest | Commercial multi add-on | $1,200 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Midwest | CFI initial | $1,500 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Midwest | CFII | $1,200 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Maryland | All ratings except CFI initial | $1,000 | exam | 'Everything is $1,000 flat' | Checkride fees by region | |
| Maryland | CFI initial | $1,500 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Ohio | Private | $800 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Ohio | Instrument | $1,000 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Ohio | Commercial single | $1,000 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Ohio | Commercial multi add-on | $1,000 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Ohio | CFI initial | $1,500 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Ohio | CFII | $1,000 | exam | Three different DPEs | Checkride fees by region | |
| Southwest Florida | Private | $1,300 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Southwest Florida | Instrument | $1,300 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Southwest Florida | Commercial single | $1,300 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Southwest Florida | CFI initial | $2,000 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Southwest Florida | CFII | $1,250 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Southwest Florida | Commercial multi add-on | $1,500 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Utah | Private | $1,200 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Utah | Instrument | $1,800 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Utah | Commercial single | $1,500 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Utah | Commercial multi | $1,800 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Utah | CFI initial | $1,000 | exam | FAA observed, DPE gave a discount | Checkride fees by region | |
| Utah | CFII | $1,500 | exam | Checkride fees by region | ||
| Not stated | Private | $550 | exam | 2025 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | Instrument | $550 | exam | 2026 | Checkride fees by region | |
| Not stated | Private | $1,500 | exam | Same DPE charged about $800 six years earlier | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| San Diego, CA | All ratings except CFI | $1,500 | exam | 'Going rate for every checkride except CFI' | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| San Diego, CA | CFI initial | $3,000 | exam | Private pilot checkride cost | ||
| Midwest | Private | $1,000 | exam | 2024 | Some local DPEs asking $1,300-1,500 | Private pilot checkride cost |
| Midwest | Instrument | $1,000 | exam | Private pilot checkride cost | ||
| Dallas-Fort Worth, TX | Private | $1,000 | exam | 'Typical' | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| Southwest Michigan | Private | $800 | exam | 2024 | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| Southwest Michigan | Instrument | $800 | exam | 2025 | Different DPE | Private pilot checkride cost |
| Georgia | Private | $900 | exam | Low quote; high quote $1,300 | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| Georgia | Private | $1,300 | exam | High quote; low quote $900 | Private pilot checkride cost | |
| Not stated | Private | $1,500 | exam | Includes oral and flight, not plane rental | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? | |
| Not stated | Private | $1,000 | exam | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? | ||
| Not stated | Instrument | $1,500 | exam | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? | ||
| Not stated | Retest | $500 | retest | Commercial retest fee quoted alongside $1,500 commercial | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? | |
| South Florida | All ratings except CFI initial | $1,500 | exam | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? | ||
| South Florida | CFI initial | $2,000 | exam | PPL check ride costing $1500. Is that normal? |